“For Sale: Baby Shoes, Never Used.”

The shortest story ever written, by Ernest Hemingway, is just six powerful words.  At an innovation conference I attended last night, the power of stories kept resurfacing.  I should know this intuitively since I spend most evenings in our oversized blue chair reading to my boys, their attention focused and their eyes aglow with each story.  But no, it took a conference for me to translate this evening ritual into a powerful business insight.  I’m all for a well-written bullet point, but a good story trumps a bullet point every time, doesn’t it?  Imagine telling a good story to your customers, their attention focused and their eyes aglow…

I’m challenging myself to tell stories this month.  It’s going to require me to de-bulletize my brain.  Not so easy.

-Sari McConnell at smcconnell@conformerinc.com

Leave a Reply

